I’m Running for Democratic Party County Committee here in L.A.

Malcolm Johnson
3 min readJan 11, 2020

Hi,

I hope you are having a happy New Year.

I just wanted to let you know that I will be appearing on your Democratic Party Primary ballot (if you’re in the Los Angeles Area) as a candidate for Los Angeles County Democratic Party County Committee.

The LACDP is the official governing body of the Democratic Party in Los Angeles County. It works in cooperation with both our State Democratic Party as well as the National Party (the DNC). It is the largest local Democratic Party entity in the United States.

For me, winning a seat on County Committee means going to meetings on the second Tuesday of every month. There, I will help the Party get more Democrats into office, fighting for Democrats who are already there, and eventually help end this President’s* reign of terror.

But it’s you that matters in all this.

If there’s one thing that this President* has done, is that he’s made Democrats painfully aware of the importance of winning elections. I want to use my time on the Committee to not only help the Party but help you and Democrats everywhere become a part of this fight. I want you to be able to say, yeah, I know someone in the Democratic Party.

I want to be that person.

By way of background, I’ve worked with the United Democratic Headquarters out of Pasadena since 2010. I was elected to the State Central Committee in 2015 in a dramatic story that had me win not one, but two elections in a single year.

I wasn’t born Armenian, but I’m a proud member of the Southern California Armenian Democrats, as well as Second Vice President of the East Area Progressive Democrats. I have volunteered for John Kerry, Barack Obama, and Hillary Clinton. I have worked on the campaigns for State Senator Anthony Portantino, and Glendale Councilman (and current High Commissioner of the Diaspora for the Republic of Armenia) Zareh Sinanyan, and Glendale Unified School Board Member Shant Sahakian. These days, I work on the campaign to re-elect Congressman Adam Schiff, and evenings helping Ardy Kassakhian for Glendale City Council, or the Armenian-American Museum built right here in Glendale.

If elected, I’ll be representing in the 43rd Assembly District, that’s Burbank, Glendale and La Canada. I’ll be an African-American representing Democrats who are Armenian-American, Korean-American, Filipino-Americans, every color under the rainbow. If you’re getting this via email, it’s because you’ve been a friend to me in the past. I still value that friendship and would be honored with your vote.

You might live just outside the 43rd Assembly District. That’s okay. You might not live in the 43rd, but you might know someone who does. Feel free to share this post with anyone, and have them sign up for my campaign, here. If you have any questions, please feel free to give me a call. If there’s one thing I learned from Senator Portantino, is give out your cell phone number. Mine is (818) 294–1732, or you can email me at mpjohn10@me.com.

This election isn’t going to be about me. It isn’t about my career in Democratic Politics. It’s going to be about listening to you, hearing you out, and doing all I can to stop this President*.

With your help and your vote, I think we can make that happen.


Best,
Malcolm Johnson
Candidate for LACDP

NOTE: If any President deserves an asterisk, it’s this one, hence the “*.”

--

--